Posted in Television

The Queen Vic

Autumn is well and truly here. I carry around with me a combination of sunglass and a brolly in my bag and the knob on the shower has been dialled up two notches in order for us not to freeze my backside off while washing.

What is also here is the usual dose of period drama. The overhyped and Dallas-esque plotted Downton Abbey has finished up so there was a hole of lavish sets and scrumptious costumes missing in ITV’s schedule that has been filled by Victoria.

Here is the part where I spilt into two. The historian in me cries “this is not factually accurate.” While the romantic in me (yes, there is a romantic in here! It’s just buried deep, deep down) has fallen so hard for the Victoria/Lord Melbourne relationship.

Oh my heart was breaking for Lord M in last nights episode. “Only a fool would turn you away.”

I know he will be taking a backseat, as they say, and it’ll be time for Albert to shine (played excellently by the always wonderful Tom Hughes) in further episodes (particularly since they are making him more of a man of the people and Lord M less – which is apparently historically correct) but I am just waiting on the DVD now so I can relive all the Vicky/Lord M stuff over and over.

 

Author:

Yes that is my real name. I use a pseudonym elsewhere but my blog is all my own.

Leave a Reply

