Posted in Television

Unlucky for some

So I’ve just seen, and am very excited, that they are announcing the new Doctor this coming Sunday after the Wimbledon final.

The 13th Doctor.

Exciting.

Nerve-wracking.

If it’s Kris Marshall I’ll fucking stab someone. I dislike his face so much that I cannot watch Love, Actually without wanting to switch off the entire television. He’s stupid fucking character in that crap-fest of a movie…*tears skin off, throw it at the computer*

I know people are calling out for a female Doctor or a person of colour, but honestly, I just want anyone but Marshall. (But ideally Rupert Grint.)

 

Sad to see Calpadi go though. He really won me around by the middle of his second season. I didn’t initially warm to him at all because, I think, his Doctor was so far from what I adored most about Matt Smith’s Doctor, namely his humanity.

Eleven’s character for me was summed up in the football scene in The Lodgerepisode when he throws a little fit when the word “annihilation” is mentioned. “there will be no annihilation. Not now. Not ever…”
It’s further cemented in that stunning speech in Rings of Akhaten episode.

“Hey, do you mind if I tell you a story? One you might not have heard. All the elements in your body were forged many, many millions of years ago, in the heart of a far away star that exploded and died. That explosion scattered those elements across the desolations of deep space. After so, so many millions of years, these elements came together to form new stars and new planets. And on and on it went. The elements came together and burst apart, forming shoes and ships and sealing wax, and cabbages and kings. Until eventually, they came together to make you. You are unique in the universe. There is only one Merry Gejelh. And there will never be another. Getting rid of that existence isn’t a sacrifice. It is a waste.”

Eleven was a Doctor who wore his hearts on his sleeves. He loved and lost and loved again. He saved who he could and when he lost someone you could see that regret in his eyes. Twelve was a Doctor who knew he couldn’t save them all, and spent no time grieving that lost because more people will die if he did.  I’m paraphrasing from the Into the Dalek episode here, Clara was his career, “she cares so I don’t have to.”

Twelve took his first season answering the “am I a good man?” question. He seemed cold and detached and so far from what had come wrapped up in the eccentric hero of Eleven. Eleven was a good man. And I wasn’t ready to say goodbye.

Author:

Yes that is my real name. I use a pseudonym elsewhere but my blog is all my own.

Leave a Reply

